Facts about the image, Dresden Trinitatisplatz
This image of Dresden Trinitatisplatz is another in our series on religious architecture shows the ruins of the church in Dresden’s Trinitatisplatz.
The church at Trinitatisplatz (trinity square) was built by the architect Karl Barth in 1893 and destroyed by allied bombing on 13 and 14 February 1945. Throughout the DDR times the church was gradually cleared of rubble, the towers rebuilt and the bells made functional, today open air church services and concerts are still held in the church ruins. The image is a study of the arched and the two towers at the east end of the church, the main tower and the bells are located at the opposite end of the building.
Having survived only slightly more than half a century the church here in trinity square is a poignant reminder of how destructive modern warfare can be and of the tragedy that unfolded in Europe in the second world war. With only its towers and arches remaining the church is also a testament to the quality of the masonry work undertaken by the Saxon builders at the end of the nineteenth century. As a concession to modern times lightning conductors can be seen running down from the top of each spire.